

The National Conference for Community & Justice of Greater Dayton released the following statement in response to the current protests and ongoing Black Lives Matter Movement as of June 1, 2020.

## You are not alone. We are with you.

We at NCCJ are disgusted, heartbroken, and outraged over the deaths of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, Ahmaud Arbery, and the countless other black and brown victims of racial oppression and violence.

NCCJ has been working with youth and our community for the past 43 years helping to build a community dedicated to eliminating bias, bigotry, and all forms of discrimination. **Our mission is critical not just today but every day**. At NCCJ, we offer opportunities that directly deal with these issues with the goal of shaping a community where justice and racial equity is the norm. As the great Dr. Martin Luther King stated: "While the arc of history is long, it only bends towards justice if we make it."

We invite you to stand with us and demonstrate that Black Lives Matter through both word and action. With all that is happening take time to have a conversation with someone who doesn't look like you, take time to read books that will broaden your awareness and check out the timely resources below. To learn more or donate to NCCJ visit our website at www.nccjgreaterdayton.org

## **Resources:**

<u>Anti-racism resources</u> <u>5 Racist Anti-Racism Responses "Good" White Women Give to Viral</u> <u>Posts</u> How to be an Anti-Racist Dr. Ibram X. Kendi 131 N. Ludlow Street Suite 27 Dayton, OH 45402-1103 Tel: 937.222.6225 Fax: 937.222-8669 www.nccjgreaterdayton.org

*Executive Director* Adriane H. Miller, MSW, LSW

**Board of Directors** 

**Board Chair** Ian Simpson

*Treasurer* Amber Holloway

Secretary Austin Railey

## Other Board Members Chandra Attiken David Butcher Susan Cornett Yvonne M. Christopher Linda Fischbach, Ed.D Nakia L. Lipscomb Dr. Scott Markland Margaret Schaller Adrian Taylor Marcus Thompson Christopher Welch Melinda "Mimi" White

Founding Directors

Victor J. Cassano, Sr.\* Marilyn F. Erickson\* William J. Hoben, Jr.\* Milton A. Marks\* Loren F. Minnick\* Dr. Philip A. Weisman\* Joyce C. Young

\*Deceased